Education logo

Part VI : Memorable Plattsburgh Moments

Only in Plattsburgh

By Rich MonettiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
William Street

Reading Material

9 William's

Higher education requires reading material, and the learning should not be limited to textbooks. Sports Illustrated, Time Magazine, Rolling Stone and Playboy - a diverse perspective was paramount. Funds, on the other hand, were another matter. But fortunately, the 1980s allowed readers to place an order, and the monthly cost could be collected at a later date. So at 9 Williams, Matt, Tim, Steve and Johnny took advantage, and all that was left was who would put their name on the bill. The choice was unanimous, but the decision meant the boys had to take on another roommate. His name : "Bill M. Later." Of course, the balance never came due.

Quote of the Day

Photo by Eric Rothermel

This was a bit of intellectual property theft. I created the calendar on Fifth Floor Wilson, and the Quote of the Day went on the Calendar daily at 144 Brinkerhoff. Hence, the larceny and overlooking my lack of credit wasn’t so easy. Still, “Bill M. Later moves in” was an early favorite, and as our college tenure was dwindling down, another remains memorable. “In six weeks, life as we know it ends,” Johnny hit the spot.

Soon after, someone’s high school friend got his girlfriend pregnant and the unfortunate happenstance was recorded. “It can really happen” or something to that effect garnered the honors. So in response, I saw the life altering event in terms that spoke to the desolate world I lived in.

“At least, he got laid.”

The completely off the cuff reflexive response probably really did it, and I received my due honors. Swelled with pride, any thoughts of lawsuits were permanently put to rest.

Spring Break - 1985

Long Bus Trip

Photo by Siddharth Kushwaha

I had no interest in going to Florida for Spring Break. My reasoning was sound. Why should I travel all the way to Florida to carry on exactly the way I do in Plattsburgh. That’s what I needed a break from. My cohorts didn’t see it that way, though. But again, funding was a problem for the boys, and Steve, Matt and Tim had a zero balance.

Mr. Later was of no use either. However, the fellas did have a rather gullible uncle who came to the rescue. So Tim set up a crucial meeting at Key Bank. I can only imagine the look on the teller’s face when Tim asked to have his $1500 student loan balance dispensed in traveler’s checks.

The Shoe, the Bra and the Plunger

Photo by Laura Chouette

The title is a form of progression and symbolizes all that Plattsburgh was about. So somebody got the bright idea that drinking beer out of a glass simply wouldn’t do. We’d go to a party, set our sights on a volunteer - who was usually a female - and request her shoe. Bottoms up, the shoe got multiple fills and was passed around until everyone came to their senses. Of course, the shoe had an obvious shelf life, and our next volunteer was quite the sport. She surrendered her bra, and - a healthy handful - we had new glory.

The good cheer wasn’t done yet, but I was smart enough to let the rugby players take it to the next level. A party at 137 Brinkerhoff had one of the ruggers emerge from the bathroom with our plunger. All pleased with himself, he filled the tool to the brim, and around the room, the revelry reigned supreme in my estimation. So I readied myself to engage. Fortunately, I remembered that our toilet was a disaster and frequently required intervention. In other words, we used that plunger a lot, and I was happy to leave the glory to the Rugby team.

Please Like My Page on Facebook

college
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.